Fases de la alianza terapéutica en los trastornos de la conducta alimentaria

Translated title of the contribution: Phases of the therapeutic alliance in eating disorders

Claudia Cruzat-Mandich, Fernanda Díaz-Castrillón, Diana Kirszman, Laura Moncada Arroyo, Carolina Aspillaga Hesse, Rosa Behar Astudillo

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1 Scopus citations


The aim of this research is to describe the evolution of the therapeutic alliance and its phases in the treatment of patients with eating disorders. A qualitative, analytical-descriptive design was applied based on the Grounded Theory. The sample included 20 Chilean patients suffering from eating disorders according to DSM-5 criteria. Results indicate that therapeutic alliance evolves within three stages that show the following characteristics: 1. First phase (knowledge): distrust, resistance, need for a diagnosis and false complacence predominate; 2. Second phase (trust and consolidation): deeper items are elaborated, therapeutic relationship improves, motivation for treatement emerges; 3. Third phase (re-signification): management of relapses is made, illness is re-defined and the end of the therapy is visualized. A climate of contention, support and security for patients is emphasized, reproducing a comprehensive and unconditional maternal role.

Translated title of the contributionPhases of the therapeutic alliance in eating disorders
Original languageSpanish
Pages (from-to)241-248
Number of pages8
JournalRevista Argentina de Clinica Psicologica
Issue number2
StatePublished - 1 Aug 2017


Dive into the research topics of 'Phases of the therapeutic alliance in eating disorders'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this